National Automatic Identification System - NAIS

Automatic Identification System (AIS) is a ship and shore based data broadcast system in accordance with SOLAS Chapter V (Regulation 19) resolution MSC.74 (69) – May 1998, operating in the VHF maritime band. Its characteristics and capability make it a powerful tool for enhancing situational awareness, thereby contributing to the safety of navigation and efficiency of shipping traffic management.

Overview of NAIS Network 

In an NAIS Network, real time AIS data is typically routed to multiple clients who wish to be a part of the AIS data service. Typically these clients are Port Authorities, Regulators, VTS Centres, Civil Defence, National Defence, Lighthouse, Customs and/or offshore authorities. These various authorities may already have tracking and surveillance systems to which the AIS data is sent or may require a situational awareness display. Most AIS networks have a data repository (database) for logging AIS data for replaying any incident and for performing statistical analysis of vessel traffic. The NAIS network has been established in entire main coastal area along with Andman & Nicobar and Lakshadweep Islands in two phases.

  • Phase I: 74 AIS shore stations to cover the main land.
  • Phase II: 07 AIS shore stations to cover A&N and 6 Lakshadweep Islands.

The Director General Lighthouses and Lightships (DGLL) established the National AIS Network, by setting up 87 shore stations on existing lighthouses along our coast for facilitating Aids to Marine Navigation and tracking of SOLAS Vessels. The network is planned to track all the SOLAS compatible vessels and also those carrying transponders as per DG Shipping notices so as to have an overall image of AIS complying vessels along the Indian Coastline which apart from management aids to navigation and enhancing value addition in regulatory roles of DG Shipping will greatly enhance the maritime domain awareness along our coastline and thereby add to coastal security.

  • nais

The National AIS (NAIS) network comprises of following:-

  • 87 Physical Shore Stations (PSS) installed at various light houses on the Indian Coast.

Eight Regional Control Centre (RCC) located at Regional Headquarters

  • Jamnagar, Mumbai, Kochi, Chennai, Kolkata, Vishakhapatnam, Kavarati and PortBlair.
  • NAIS_1_
  • Two Coastal Control Centers (CCC) located at Deep Bhavan, Mumbai
  • NAIS_2
  • Dolphin’s Nose Light House Vishakhapatnam.
  • NAIS_3_0
  • One National Data Centre(NDC) located at Deep Bhavan Mumbai
  • NAIS_4_0
  • One simulator located at Dolphin’s Nose Light House Vishakhapatnam.
  • NAIS_5
  • Viewing terminals are shared with national coastal and security agencies #BBD0E0 »